Question on four types of Mukti

Updated on August 31, 2017 in Holy Books
3 on August 30, 2017

Shri Velukkudi Swamigalin Thiruppadhangalukku Adiyenin Kotana Koti Namaskarams

I read in a Visishtadvaitam book that, among two traditions of Visishtadvaitam, one tradition believes in gradation of Anandham of Jivas in Moksha and another does not believe in gradation.

Some books say that there is distinction without differences. Is it first of all possible that there is gradation in Mukti?

Also, in Muktikopanishad, Shri Rama says to Lord Hanuman that Kaivalya Mukti is common for all but based on the Sadhana one does, there is a gradation in Mukti and it is of 4 types viz Saloka, Saroopya, Samebhya and Sayujya Mukti.

I request Swamy to elaborate on Kaivalya Mukti, 4 types of Mukti explained by Shri Rama and what kind of Sadhana will lead to highest grade Anandham (Sayujya Mukti), for clarity of Adiyen.

Sarvam Shri Krishnaarpanamastu!

  • Liked by
1 on August 31, 2017

As per adiyen’s remembrance Velukkudi Swamy said 3 types
KAmyArthi : Wish for material elevation
KaivailyArthi : Self loving
Bhagavan lAbhArthi : To be for him

This is not adiyen’s answer but recollecting points

on August 31, 2017

Dhanyosmi Swamy

Thanks for providing response. However, Mukti itself means liberation and nothing to do with material elevation.

Further, this gradation is found in many books on Visishtadvaitam also. They say, among Tenkalai and Vadakalai tradition, one believes in gradation even in Moksha and another does not. Those are all from authenticated writers only.

So, awaiting response from Shri Velukkudi Swamy in this regard.

However, if Swamy feels this question cannot be addressed in public, kindly ignore Adiyen’s question.

Sarvam Shri Krishnaarpanamastu!

Show more replies
  • Liked by
0 on August 31, 2017

Ok. Let Adiyen give the explanations in one of the books written on “Moksham as per Visishtadvaitam”, TTD publications. These gradations are there even in Visishtadvaitam. These are mentioned even in some Sankalpam in Tirumala.

1. Saloka Mukti – being in same world of Lord
2. Sarupa Mukti – getting appearance as Lord
3. Samipa Mukti – being closer to Lord
4. Sayujya Mukti – enjoying same bliss as Lord

Sayujya Mukti is highest and in other types, there is no equality in enjoyment with Lord. Still, the Jiva may or may not know this. The author says, “One should aim highest grade of Mukti which is Sayujya Mukti”.

However, all 4 are liberated and have bliss which are not equal to each other.

Adiyen’s concern is, in case some one aims at Sayujya Mukti but attains Sarupa Mukti or Samipa Mukti, is it possible that the Jiva can continue the Sadhana in Vaikuntam itself and achieve Sayujya?

Again, if the question is sensitive, Swamy need not answer Adiyen’s question.

  • Liked by
Loading more replies