Updated on December 13, 2018 in General
4 on December 11, 2018

Adiyen would like to know what is panchikarnam process?

  • Liked by

Srimathe Ramanujaya Namah
Sri Sriranga Narayana Jeeyar Swamigale Saranam!

After every Maha Kalpa (311.040 Trillion Earth Years = 1 breath of Maha Vishu – Bhagavad Gita 9.7), a complete annihilation and manifestation of this material creation occurs.

Each Pancha Bhoota or Gross Element is just associated with its own Subtle element or Tanmatra and not so in actuality. After the basic 24 elements (details are given by Lord Kapilar in Srimad Bhagavatham) come into existence, Panchikaranam begins to bring the gross elements to the current state they are in.

Perumal first takes Ether and divides it into 2 halves. He takes one half, divides it into 4 equal quarters and shares them each with the other 4 elements. He does the same to all the 5 gross elements. At the end of this process, all elements are a mixture of 50% of itself and 12.5% of the other 4 elements.

The Creation that happens till this point of time is called Samashti Creation (Creation done by the Supreme Being himself).  At the end of the Samashti Creation, there are millions of eggs or Andams floating in the cosmos. Each of this Andam contains 14 lokas – Satya, Tapa, Jana, Mahar, Svar, Bhuvar, Bhur Lokas at the top  and Atala, Vitala, Sutala, Talatala, Mahatala, Rasatala and Patala Lokas under the ground. It is also covered on the exterior by seven natural envelopes – Water, Fire, Air and Ether- in the same order-followed by Ahankara, Mahan and finally by the Indiscrete Principle (Moola Prakruti). Each layer is ten-fold than the previous one.

Inside each such Egg, all the worlds that would be created, are in an embryonic state. Our world contains Mountains, Rivers, Land, Ocean etc… The egg also contains, Asuras, Devas, Humans and all other living things.

The Supreme Being (Perumal) then appoints one very pure Soul (Atma) as Brahma of each Andam.  He then becomes the Antharyami  (or the Inner God) of Brahma and starts Vyashti Srishti. Brahma goes on to create Asuras, Devas, Rakshasas, Yakshas, Gandharvas, Plants and animals, basically everything that lives and is a part of our Lokas (8.4 Million Species).

We get information from the Padma Purana that the 8.4 million species of life are divided into six groups, namely acquatics, trees, insects, birds, animals and humans.

1. ACQUATICS/Jalaja – 0.9 million
2. TREES /Sthavara – 2.0 million
3. INSECTS/Krimayo – 1.1 million
4. BIRDS/Pakshinam – 1.0 million
5. ANIMALS/Pashavah – 3.0 million
6. HUMANS/Manavah – 0.4 million

The actual Sanskrit verse from the Padma Purana explaining the above numbers is as follows
“jalaja nava lakshani, sthavara laksha-vimshati, krimayo rudra-sankhyakah, pakshinam dasha-lakshanam, trinshal-lakshani pashavah, chatur lakshani manavah”

The humans include Gandharvas, Vidyadharas, Caranas, Angels, Apsaras, Yaksas, Rakshas, Bhutaganas, Uragas, Pasus, Pitas, Kinnaras, Kimpurushas, Pretas, Pisacas, Bhutas, Pannagas, Vaitalikas, Vetalas, Nagas, Uragas, Pannagas, Suparnas,Mahoragas, Pramathas, Nayakas, Asuras, Devas, Daityas, Danavas, Guhyakas, Ribhus, Kindevas and so on.

The very first creation at the start of the new Brahma’s first day is called Sarga. The creation that happens after every dissolution or pralaya is called Prati-Sarga.

Detailed description of how Brahma achieves the progeny is given in our scriptures like Vishnu Purana and Srimad Bhagavatam. Please listen to Velukkudi Swamigal Saptaga Bhagavatham Upanyasam for much better explanation.

Adiyen made a humble effort to scribble my basic understanding.

@Velukkudi Swami: please forgive and correct this ignorant bhakta for any mistakes.

Alwar Emperumanaar Jeeyar Thiruvadigale Saranam!

Velukkudi Swamigal Thiruvadigale Saranam!

Badrinarayana Ramanuja Dasan

on December 12, 2018

Thanks for clear explanation of panchikarnam along with the creation process.
Velukkudi Krishnan swamy thiruvadigale saranam.

Show more replies
  • Liked by
0 on December 12, 2018

Sri Ramanuja Munaye Namaha,

Sri Velukkudi Krishnan Swami Guruve Namaha,


AthiArputham explanation Badri BhagavatA referring to Sri Velukudi krishnan Swami’s “Kannunin KadhaiAmudham (Srimadh BhagavAtham)’ Upanyasam, about BhagavAN SrimAn NarayanAn’s does Initial Shristi from Moola Prakruthi to Mahan to Ahankaram subdivided to Satvika Ahankaram, Rajasika Ahankaram and Tamasik Ahankaram , and then Satvika Ahankaram divided to 5 KarmaIndriyangal & 5 Gyana Indriyangal, and Tamasik Ahankaram divided to 5 ThannMaatrangal and 5 PanchaBhoothangal in which BhagavAn does the PanchiKaranam using the 5 PanchaBhoothangal. These 24 elements makes up the Achit tatvam, then Chit Tatvam and ParamAthma Tatvam, which makes up total of 26. Then, BhagavAN gives the creates Brahma Post etc.. and so on….


Adiyen is also making a flow chart of these subdivisions with Ahcarya Krupai. Adiyen will post it.


Adiyaargal Vaazha ArangaNagar Vaazha Sir Velukkudi krishnan Swamiye Innum Oru Nootraandu Irumm.


Adiyen Sri Velukkudi Krishna Dasan,

Uyya Oraey Vazhi UdayavAr ThiruvAdi,

Sarvam Sri Krishna Kudumbham,

Sarvam Sri Krishna rpanam Asthu.

  • Liked by

Mikka Arumai Kongil Piratti Swami! Adiyen have a long term desire to put a chart for Yatindra Mata Deepika based on Velukkudi Swamigal upanyasam. When I first heard it was mind blowing but would have been more easier to follow if we had this kind of chart.

Alwar Emperumanaar Jeeyar Thiruvadigale Saranam

  • Liked by
Loading more replies